When you walk in the front doors there is a large, empty foyer area before you get up to the entrance to the restaurant. I thought this was kind of weird looking. We were greeted by numerous hostesses/waitresses and were able to watch the chefs in action while we waited for our table.
They brought out some delicious bread with oil and balsamic vinegar.
The menu was extensive, yet on the pricier side. I ended up choosing one of the cheaper options which was spaghetti con polpette (spaghetti with meatballs) for $17.
The food came out very quickly, which was nice at lunch.
This spaghetti was alright, but not great. The noodles were overcooked. The meatballs were flavourful, but quite "mushy". The sauce was somewhat bland ... I thought it was better with a bit of balsamic in it (which I used from my bread plate). A dash of red wine could have made a difference. I prefer my own homemade spaghetti and meatballs.
A few others had the same dish and had similar thoughts.
Some of my pals got the gnocci.
I had a taste, and it was by far the fluffiest gnocci I have ever tasted.
The sauce was rich, but the gnocci was light. We all decided that it would be great with a glass of vino to cut through the richness of the sauce. Those who dined on this commented that a bit of greens or something on the side would have been nice, especially for the high price.
A friend found something foreign in her meatball, which she was chewing on and removed from her mouth to see that it was a bit of metal from a dish scrubby. She politely told the waiter, and was offered a dessert. We were all on our way out, so she declined the dessert, and instead was given $3 off of her bill. When a restaurant is just starting out and trying to build a reputation, I don't think this was the best approach. I think that her meal should have been comped.
I expected more from this restaurant, but was disappointed overall, as were the other 11 diners. The food was definitely overpriced, and not spectacular by any means.
I have heard that the appetizers are really good, and I always give a restaurant at least two chances. Chris and I will have to go for dinner one night and give it another shot.
Have you tried any new restaurants lately? Have you been to this restaurant? If so, what did you order, and what did you think of it?
(Note: Some local friends have mentioned that they don't know how to leave a comment. You don't need an account or anything. Just click on comments below and then you can leave a comment anonymously - but leave your name if you want me to know who you are!)
Hiç yorum yok:
Yorum Gönder